In addition to the four grand Sabbats, there are four lesser Sabbats: the two solstices, and the two equinoxes.  These are referred to as the four 'quarter-days' of the year, and are the four 'Lesser Sabbats'.

Summer begins on May Day and ends on Lammas (August 1st), the summer solstice is midway between the two, marking mid-summer.

A solstice is an astronomical event that happens twice each year when the Sun reaches its highest position in the sky as seen from the North or South Pole. The word solstice is from the Latin sol - sun  and sistere - to stand still

The summer solstice occurs when the sun reaches the Tropic of Cancer, and we have the longest day and the shortest night of the year.

Customs include decking the house with birch, fennel, St. John's wort, orpin, and white lilies. Lighting bonfires, feasting

Herbs and Flowers:
Mugwort, Vervain, Chamomile, Rose, Honeysuckle, Lily, Oak, Lavender, Ivy, Yarrow, Fern, Elder, Wild Thyme, Daisy, Carnation.

Lemon, Myrrh, Pine, Rose, Wisteria.

Emerald, jade, all green gemstones

Home   Ritual Room   Temple Membership

Samhain   Yule   Imbolc   Ostara  Beltaine   Litha   Lammas   Mabon

Copyright Festival Temple Est. 2006